A marriage license MUST
be purchased BEFORE
you get married. The couple must apply together at any time at any one of the three (3) offices listed above.
If either applicant has been divorced or has terminated a state registered domestic partnership within the last ninety (90) days, a certified copy of the final dissolution of marriage or termination of domestic partnership is required.
When one or both of the applicants is/are under the age of eighteen (18), arrangements must be made with the Santa Barbara Superior Court at 805-882-4520 in Santa Barbara or 805-614-6414 in Santa Maria and Lompoc. Once the judge approves the marriage, the couple must come into the Clerk, Recorder’s Office with a certified copy of the court order and government-issued photo ID. Minors may only purchase a regular marriage license.
To apply for a confidential marriage license you must be currently residing together as spouses. You will need to bring in proof of this in the form of your valid driver’s licenses showing the same address or a bill addressed to both of you at the same address. You can only be married in Santa Barbara County. No witnesses are required.
Applicants are not required to be U.S. citizens or residents of the State of California or of Santa Barbara County. Current government-issued photo ID, such as a driver’s license or passport, is required.
TO SUBMIT YOUR ONLINE MARRIAGE LICENSE APPLICATION, CLICK HERE
Once you enter the office, direct yourselves to the marriage license application kiosks to input your information; once you submit the information, complete the process at one of the counter windows. Please review the Marriage Equality Act of 2007 located next to the marriage kiosks. The license will be issued in approximately thirty (30) minutes. Once the license is issued to the couple they may use it immediately; there is no waiting period. A regular marriage license may be used anywhere in the state of California within a period of ninety (90) days from the date of issuance. A confidential marriage license may only be used in Santa Barbara County within a period of ninety (90) days from the date of issuance. The fee for a marriage license is:
• Regular/Public marriage license ($100.00)
• Confidential/Non-Public marriage license ($111.00)
Marriage ceremonies are performed by the Santa Barbara County Clerk’s Office, in all three (3) offices. Ceremonies are by appointment only; For a regular public marriage ceremony you must have at least one (1) witness; if you have none, a witness can be provided for you at an additional cost. Click here
to request a marriage ceremony appointment
• Non-refundable wedding ceremony reservation fee ($23.00)
• Wedding ceremony performance in Santa Barbara Hall of Records, Santa Maria & Lompoc offices ($104.00)
• Wedding ceremony performance in Courthouse Sunken Garden or Mural Room ($116.00)
** Note: This fee does not include the use of these two facilities.
You must reserve the Sunken Gardens separately through the Parks Department at firstname.lastname@example.org
The Mural Room must be reserved through the General Services Department at 805-568-3070 or email@example.com
We will ask to see a copy of your reservation before performing the ceremony.
• Witness fee ($51.00)
|Marriage Commissioner Appointment
The Santa Barbara County Clerk, Recorder is designated as the Commissioner of Civil Marriages for Santa Barbara County. As the Commissioner of Civil Marriages, the Clerk-Recorder may appoint individuals as Deputy Civil Marriage Commissioners in order to marry specific couples (pursuant to California Family Code Section 401(a) & (b) and County Code Sec. 2-10.7, pursuant to Government Code 26861). This means that your friend or family member may be appointed as a Deputy Civil Marriage Commissioner for a Day and perform your marriage. The fee for a marriage commissioner appointment is $51.00. The applicant
must appear in person at the County Clerk's office in order to be sworn in. You may apply for your commission up to ninety (90) days before the ceremony is performed.
• For more information on Deputy Civil Marriage Commissioner for a Day, click here
• To obtain Deputy Civil Marriage Commissioner for a Day application, select English
After the license is issued, you may be married by a priest, rabbi, minister, judge or other authorized marriage commissioner. You must be married within 90 days of the date the license was issued, and you may be married anywhere in the State of California.
To obtain a certified copy of your marriage certificate, select English
with fee schedule.
For information on reserving a wedding ceremony area on the Santa Barbara County Courthouse grounds, please click here
. To reserve the County Courthouse Mural Room, click here
or call 805-568-3070. Separate fees and reservation procedures apply.